St Michael'sChurch of England Primary School

Sandhurst, Berkshire

Search Search
Translate Translate

Governing Body


The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.


All boards, no matter what type of schools or how many schools they govern, have three core functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent (link to DfE Financial Benchmarking).


Following reconstitution in July 2019, the governing body has places for 12 governors, who are appointed or elected as follows:

  • 7 foundation governors appointed by the Diocese of Oxford. This number also includes the rector of St. Michael`s Church, Sandhurst.

  • 3 elected parent governors

  • 1 LA governor appointed by Bracknell Forest Council

  • 1 elected staff governor

  • Headteacher


Our Governing Body

Chair of Governors       Mrs Louise Norman
Vice ChairMrs Polly Harris
HeadteacherMr Stuart Bevan
Foundation Governor      Rev. John Castle
Foundation Governor Mrs Katy Robson-Malone
Foundation GovernorMrs Rachel Inwood
Foundation GovernorMr Jon Donkin
Bracknell Forest Governor       Mr Dale Birch
Parent GovernorMrs Carley Osgood
Parent GovernorMr Vincent Rassat
Parent GovernorMrs Karolina McIlroy
Staff GovernorMrs Kay Fawkes
Associate GovernorMr Gareth Parsons
ClerkMiss Laura Beresford


The Chair of Governors (Mrs Louise Norman) can be contacted by e-mail at: